Shared from the 1/9/2020 QNWN eEdition

Wilkinson named in development squad



Britt Wilkinson celebrates scoring for the Brisbane Blaze last November. PICTURE: AAP/Scott Barbour

HOCKEY’S Britt Wilkinson has been named in hockey’s Women’s National Development Squad.

Wilkinson joins fellow Queenslanders Hannah Astbury, Morgan Gallagher and Meg Pearce in the squad.

The Queensland quartet were part of the Brisbane Blaze winning team that clinched the inaugural Hockey One League grand final.

Wilkinson said making the squad was one of her goals.

“It was very exciting to be selected in the National Development Squad and a great finish to my Sultana Bran Hockey One competition,’’ she said.

“I’m looking forward to the next step in my career.’’

Hockeyroos Head Coach Paul Gaudoin said Wilkinson and her fellow squad members had “something special to bring to the national set up”.

Promotion into the squad capped a fantastic period in Wilkinson’s career after she helped her club, Kedron Wavell, win the Division 1 premiership, and then shone in the Blaze national title win. Matt Finn from Commercial Hockey Club made the men’s development squad.

- Andrew Dawson

See this article in the e-Edition Here